Rolled Oat Revelations

Dreams of Space by Fleck, via Ffffound

Pre-dawn lifeplanning over blueberry porridge.

I’m trying my best to get into breakfast lately. Right now it’s all about the rolled oat combos. Favourites so far:

1/3 cup rolled oats, 1 cup rice milk*, plus:

  • chopped dates and cinnamon with walnut pieces on top (the simple one)
  • frozen blueberries, cinnamon and LSA, with brown sugar & chopped walnuts on top (the fancy one)
I’m loving this being-up-early scenario. Sleeping city, quiet house, tea brewing, pottering productively. I’d love to be awake at 6am every day but the only time I am is, like today, when I wake up in the early hours and can’t get back to sleep again! I’ve been awake since 3.30am! Insomnia isn’t the sole culprit this time around, though, one of my molars has decided to start yelling “DESTROY!”.

Hopefully the ‘ol head-in-sand ignore-and-it’ll-go-away response bears fruit, because there is no way in hell I am paying for dental work right now.

The sun just began to shine outside.
Time for some balcony-seaview-cup-of-tea action.
I think I’d be lost without the ocean.

* So.much.better than soy; get on it
2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “Rolled Oat Revelations

  1. A bit late in the season now, but for a while feijoas were so abundant that people were just giving them away. My household stewed up a bunch of them, and they go amazingly well with porridge, though I can see the appeal of blueberry.

Leave a Reply

