Enthusiasm / Big Day Out

Via Ffffound

Today is the 50th anniversary of the Flintstones- awesome. It is going to be a busy afternoon, I am energising myself with cute hair and a rad playlist.

Next ten:

♠ Away With Me – Blue Sky Black Death & Jean Grae
♠ Turns Me On (ft. Sleepy Brown & Joi) – Big Boi
♠ It’s Oh So Quiet – Bjork
♠ Gloves – The Horrors
♠ Telephone (ft. Beyoncé) – Lady Gaga
♠ Spirit in the Sky – Bauhaus
♠ Let’s Lynch the Landlord – Dead Kennedys
♠ Atlantis to Interzone – Klaxons
♠ Apple – Atmosphere
♠ Deceptecon – Le Tigre

In the interests of productivity, yesterday I did sweet fuck all.

I’ve been so crazyexcited about organising bits and pieces for Pennyroyal that relaxation has been taking a back seat, which is not good because my brain gets tired and wobbly if it spends too long in hyperdrive about one thing. Also, I am supposed to be just relaxing in general at the moment!

Note to self: Take it easy, lady.

Loving…

♠ Having a massive bedside stack of library books

♠ Cups of tea and hanging out with the world’s friendliest kitten

♠ Griffin’s Mint Treat Bites. Epic win

♠ Tuesday night’s scandalous episode of Outrageous Fortune; viewed in candle light, with camembert and crackers to devour; awesome

♠ Warm layers and slouchy socks; sleeves-over-knuckles

♠ The blanket of light grey cloud in the sky, stretching as far as the eye can see

Akihiro Furuta, via Ffffound

So… how about that first Big Day Out announcement? Best in years and absolutely requires a weekend mission to Auckland in January, tedious crowds and shite venue be damned.*

M.I.A (!!!), Iggy and the Stooges, Grinderman, Lupe Fiasco, Deftones, Primal Scream, LCD Soundsystem, Rammstein, Andrew W.K, Bloody Beetroots. I freakout out when I found out that M.I.A is coming. Holy shit that is good news. Iggy & the Stooges fell flat for me last time they played the BDO; it’s possible that I let the (relatively thin and unenthused) crowd get to me, though, so I am looking forward to checking them out again as long as there are no clashes timetable-wise. Grinderman were apparently amazing when I saw them, but fucked if I can remember any of it; hopefully the same thing won’t happen this time around :-p

M.I.A

The only downer is that Tool – and therefore, the Tool Army – are going to be there. I have a love/hate relationship with Tool in that I used to love them and now I can’t stand them. Possibly a case of overexposure. Damn, I used to L.O.V.E Tool. Some of my ladyfriends and I even ditched our Sixth Form ball to go see them, for what was my first truly mindblowing concert-going experience.

Opiate, Undertow, Aenima, Lateralus; I have lived and breathed all of those albums, but by the time 10,000 days was released I had ceased to care. They really are an amazing live band, however, and their set will most likely be incredible. Where will I be when Tool are doing their thing, though? Dancing my goddamn ass off to M.I.A, that’s where.

It is going to be a reunion up there; everyone I know who had written the BDO off is gurning like a mofo right now. Indeed, I am goddamn fucking excited about the line-up as well. A rare feat these days!

A little adventure up to Auckland is going to be amazing in itself, I can’t wait to catch up with all of my wonderful AKL folks, it is going to rule.

Also…

♠ Albert Park in summer! Lounging around in the shade on huge knarled tree roots with a sly bottle of wine ♥

♠ The Burgerie; tofu chilli roll; the best ever ‘day after’ fuel known to man, I swear

♠ Fujisan; I get intermittent cravings for specific items on their menu; it is one of my favourite things about Auckland

♠ The Wine Cellar and Whammy. Actually, pretty much all of St. Kevin’s Arcade!

* Surely they could have the BDO somewhere other than Mt Smart Stadium, right? The Australian gigs are at venues that don’t require people to turn into a shoulder-to-shoulder lemming mass, there must be a better venue in New Zealand somewhere.

Via Ffffound

♥,

Leave a comment

Filed under music

Leave a Reply

