April List o’ Love: Siouxsie Sioux, The Emerald City & Trusting In Change

Chanel

April was a very healing month.

I had a lot of moments in the last couple of weeks where I have turned my face toward the sky, closed my eyes and silently said THANK YOU to the universe. Change comes.

Slowly but surely, I have been getting this chronic-pain trapped-nerve business sorted out. There have been doctors, surgeons, x-rays, scans, piles of pills, naturopathy, osteopathy, acupuncture, EFT, energy healing and chiropractic.

At times it has been a very hard, frustrating experience, but in many ways, the health ups and downs I have had over the last three years have been an incredible gift. I have learned how to nourish myself with amazing food. I have learned that I need to be fierce about following my dreams (and also very patient), and that I am hungry for big things.

I knew that the light at the end of this tunnel would begin getting closer eventually and it feels REAL good that the time has come. Yusss. This year I will run back into the arms of sewing. Even get my ass back to Bikram. It is exciting as hell.

For the last month or so, I have been seeing an amazing chiropractor – I came away deflated after my first shot at chiropractic, but when the orthopaedic surgeon I saw recently thought it was worth another shot, I figured I might as well visit a different practice with my fingers crossed and see what happened. It was such a good call!

The first week, I had three separate adjustments (an ‘adjustment’ is the chiropractic euphemism for cracking yer bones ♥). The few weeks that followed I went in twice weekly, and as of last week I have a weekly appointment. During this time a bunch of rad things having happened, including halving the amount of strong-ass painkillers I need to take, and being able to unglue myself from my hot water bottle. Coupled with continuing to eat empowering food, I am feeling better than ever. Onwards and upwards.

fr. Pulp Fiction

Mia and Vince, via Ffffound

Other awesome things about my April:

♥ Drinking an Emerald City Cocktail while watching Oz the Great & Powerful in 3D with Cam. So much fun. We sat in the supercomfy, reclining seats at Reading and ate up a popcorn storm. I loved the movie: some people get annoyed with the sensory overload of colour and the leaning towards style over substance, but I think: fuck yes. Disney was made for 3D eyeball confections. Pump ‘em full, Disney. What I really wanna know is: when do I get to see 3D Chitty Chitty Bang Bang???

♥ The amazing Kris Carr! Kris just celebrated her 10 year cancer anniversary. She is a total star and definitely one of the inspirations behind my clean eating health adventure.

Ciaté‘s soon-to-be-launched Chalkboard Manicure sounds very, very cool. And also reminds me that I need to deal to the chipped mess of purple polish I’ve got on lingering on my nails right now (nail polish can’t handle me – I’m too handsy – if it lasts four days, it’s a miracle).

♥ Street Art Utopia has rounded up 100+ of their favourite 2012 street art photos.

Big hair forever, via Tumblr

Image via Tumblr

♥ Diana Eng’s laser lace tops are awesome; I want a black version of the All Over Tee so bad. Her fortune cookie coin purse is rad as hell too!

♥ I was excited to stumbled upon Constrvct while bouncing around online recently. It is a really interesting project, still in a public beta stage, that has potential to be very, very cool. Billing themselves as “the world’s first collaborative fashion label”, Constrvct enables people to upload their own images, to be printed digitally on to plain garments that are made to custom size from 3D patterns. Make your own Constrvct or buy from the shop. I’m gonna keep an eye on this one.

Acid Cult is lookin’ fresh thanks to Big Cartel introducing a new, no nonsense & beautiful theme for me to play with.

♥ PUFF PASTRY. There is something about pastry that is deliciously comforting. I wanna wrap everything in pastry right now.

LP Cover Lover: “The World’s Greatest LP Album Covers”. By ‘greatest’ they mean ‘most retro & ridiculous’… :D

♥ Gabby Bernstein’s short & sweet EFT de-stress tutorial: How to Reduce Stress. It might seem a little woo-woo at first, but tapping (a kind of self-administered acupressure) works for all sorts of things that might be throwing you off your game. It totally helped with the depression challenges I struggled through during my early-mid twenties. It is very easy and can be super effective.

♥ Visual stimulus. I am VFiles bitch right now and it rules. That, coupled with the gravity of Pinterest pulling me further and further in, has kicked me in to aesthetic overdrive.

By Annie Owens

By Annie Owens, Supersonic Electronic

♥ Being taught diaphragmatic breathing during my first ever session with an energy healer. FUCK YES. A jaw-droppingly effective way of pulling myself back together in moments of stress or doubt. Calming, centring, veil-clearing.

♥ Photographs of abandoned places. I will never see enough of these. This collection is my favourite in a long time: The 33 Most Beautiful Abandoned Places in the World.

♥ The suave brains behind Haute Macabre have their very own perfume! Haute Macabre by Black Phoenix Alchemist Lab, they are taking backorders for the next run right this minute.

♥ Making spreadable vegan mozzerella! A delicious victory! Find the recipe, along with the very tip of the online vegan cheese iceberg, in my post for Kitchen Rebellion – The KR Guide to Vegan Cheese in New Zealand (& Beyond)

♥ The best housewarming gift EVER from my soul sis Lucy. She knows Cam & I so well!

♥ My custom Mortal Gods vest. So fucking rad! I love it to pieces and then some. Heavy-duty studded lapels and a big back patch with Siouxsie in the middle and “fall in love, not in line” in big lavender letters wrapped around it. Check it out:

Spikes!

Fall in love, not in line

♥ ♥ ♥

2 Comments

Filed under fashion, love list, wellington

2 responses to “April List o’ Love: Siouxsie Sioux, The Emerald City & Trusting In Change

  1. I don’t know where you neuropathy is, but I had it on one side
    of my face. I would skip the Chiropractic though. I dropped out
    of Chiro School because it was a complete fraud. Don’t let them
    perform a rotary on you–it killed a fellow student. God luck–mine
    eventually went away, but was replaced by an anxiety disorder.
    I had my pain at around your apparent age–20′s.

    good luck?

Leave a Reply

